The Chronicle of the Horse
MagazineNewsHorse SportsHorse CareCOTH StoreVoicesThe Chronicle UntackedDirectoriesMarketplaceDates & Results

Page 1 of 4 123 ... LastLast

Unhappy Wont go in Sweet Iron, wont stop in eggbutt.. Help?!

I'm having issues at the moment.

Taffy has been in a Sweet Iron copper loose ring thing for a couple of months, and I have a Hack show in about 4 weeks, so I started riding him in a regular eggbutt and flat reins. (The other bit has grippy ones)

In the loose ring, it's hard to get him going. Even when we're jumping. I've tried to carry a whip, but he just spazzes out, and has a melt down. Spurs do jack all for him.

In the eggbutt, he won't stop, collect, he has his head up all the time and it's driving me barmey!

I have NO idea what to do*, and I NEED him to be round, and working well from behind, because it's a hack show, and that's what he's being judged on.

If it was dressage, I probably wouldn't be as worried, but it's not.

Any ideas? Maybe your horse is/was the same? How did you fix it? (without more bits!)

*If your going to post things like 'He needs more schooling', 'get lessons' etc etc, please don't bother posting at all. My instructor is busy atm, because she is also a teacher at my school, and we go back tomorrow, so she's caught up with that. And because school has gone back, I can't ride as often as I would like.

Unhappy Wont go in Sweet Iron, wont stop in eggbutt.. Help?! (Posted in Eventing as well)

I'm having issues at the moment.

Taffy has been in a Sweet Iron copper loose ring thing for a couple of months, and I have a Hack show in about 4 weeks, so I started riding him in a regular eggbutt and flat reins. (The other bit has grippy ones)

In the loose ring, it's hard to get him going. Even when we're jumping. I've tried to carry a whip, but he just spazzes out, and has a melt down. Spurs do jack all for him.

In the eggbutt, he won't stop, collect, he has his head up all the time and it's driving me barmey!