The Chronicle of the Horse
MagazineNewsHorse SportsHorse CareCOTH StoreVoicesThe Chronicle UntackedDirectoriesMarketplaceDates & Results

Default Smartpak's Smartgain 4

I have been eyeing this supplement for about 6 months. I have looked on a few different BB's and haven't been real successful in locating actual opinions on how it works; only really that people are feeding it in response to a feed question.

So I have a hard keeping OTTB mare. Right now she looks AMAZING (see here: http://i144.photobucket.com/albums/r...y/P1010553.jpg). Teeth in great shape, etc etc etc. She is in consistant work (showing 1st level schooling some 2nd/3rdish stuff). Right now the pasture sucks but I do have a nic grassy paddock behind the barn they get to go on for like an hour a day.

She gets:

1lb Buckeye Gro N Win ration balancer 2xday
    2lbs crimped oats 2xday
    0.5lb Buckeye Ultimate Finish Rice Bran fat supplement (20%) 2xday
    1Tbsp 12:12 salt balancer 2xday
    15g Probios (5g AM 10g PM)
    100mg HA
    10lbs organic O/A
    10-15lbs very nice coastal

This feeding and exercise routine has her looking like she does in above pic. The thing I am running into is that she is not the worlds best eater. She is very picky. Since the rice bran supplement is powder, I HAVE to put warm water in her feed and make it very soupy or she wont touch it. And sometimes she doesnt "lick it clean". I also have to buy the probios, the fat supplement, and probably add flax back in since I need more omega 6's than 3's since the rice bran is high in omega 3's.

I like that the Smartgain has the flax, PRE and PRO biotics (I used to have her on Ration Plus a prebiotic but no one carries it locally anymore), and that it has the fenugreek which is an appetite stimulant, which wouldnt hurt her!