The Chronicle of the Horse
MagazineNewsHorse SportsHorse CareCOTH StoreVoicesThe Chronicle UntackedDirectoriesMarketplaceDates & Results

Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Exclamation Wear your vests and helmets kiddos!! I'll tell you why.

Because they can save your butt. That's why. Even when you think all is good in the stars...you find your A$$ on the ground.

I had to send one of my young adult students off in an ambulence this weekend.
    Not a fun thing for a teacher. Not fun at all.
    The what if's, and what could I have done, what did I do wrong, I'm not a good coach, of course haunts me now.
    I'm a semi pro and I help only on special request. So I'm relatively new to falls of kiddos/students and such.

And the reality of it is, it happens. And in this case, now that I know what she doesn't know, I can prepare her for the next tough similar situation. But I feel like I should have randomly known what was about to happen before it happened. Coaches are caretakers in a sense. And I failed.

People often look at me crooked because no matter what I"m riding/how old/how much training ect I wear my vest and my helmet. It's not even up for discussion.
    I ride a lot of well broke trail horses and such but no matter what- that vest goes on. Even in 110* weather.

My student would have been in pretty good shape after her fall if she had her vest on.
    She was ejected from her little OTTB (who apparently had a track flashback or something) at a fairly quick speed and when she hit the ground she slid a good 15 meters and wrapped herself around an arena fence post.

She was bruised black and blue in the little baby ribb area within a few minutes. I made her lay still and called 911 because who knows what could have been bruised or fractured (spleen, kidney, plelvis).

Turns out she's just bruised right at the base of her rib cage.
    The first thing she said was, "damn, should have had my vest on".