The Chronicle of the Horse
MagazineNewsHorse SportsHorse CareCOTH StoreVoicesThe Chronicle UntackedMarketplaceDates & Results

Page 1 of 4 123 ... LastLast

Default What to do with my life?...

Title says it all - I don't know what to do about school.
    I graduated from high school in May 2008, and now i'm at the local community college but I hate it! I want to get out of there after this semester, but I don't know where to go.

I definitely want to do something with horses for the rest of my life - so I was looking at horse schools and found Black Hawk College-
    http://www.bhc.edu/
    Has anybody heard anything about this school?

They have Equestrian Science courses - http://www.bhc.edu/DocumentView.asp?DID=170

Their only requirement is you have to be a high school graduate, which is good because I never took SATs. My plan was to go to comm.coll. for 2 years and transfer to a 4 year. But I don't think I can get through 2 years of comm.coll. I hate it.
    BDC

I know that school can be tedious. But a bachelor's degree w/ decent grades is plain and simple life insurance against the exigencies of life. Please consider sucking it up and marching on through. Please take classes in something quantitative. (math, darlin'.) Horses are EXPENSIVE, and the economy SUCKS, so do what you can to insulate yourself against economic irrelevance and get yourself some edumication, forthwith. Think of it as the intellectual equivalent of lots of 2 point w/o stirrups. Necessary, painful, and non-negotiable in order to be competent to do more interesting and useful things. Hang in there.
    I tolerate all kinds of animal idiosyncrasies.
    I've found that I don't tolerate people idiosyncrasies as well. - Casey09