The Chronicle of the Horse
MagazineNewsHorse SportsHorse CareCOTH StoreVoicesThe Chronicle UntackedDirectoriesMarketplaceDates & Results

Default dressage newbie ? about stretching

Hi - dressage newbie here ... I've been riding H/J for almost 30 years but have been taking dressage lessons for the past 2 years with my greenie project. He has come a long way - really moves beautifully up into the bridle at the trot and is now starting round up at the canter as well. One consistent problem that we've had from the beginning is that he hates bending right. He is almost a completely different horse going from left to right. He's gotten better but still pops his right shoulder in from time to time.

My question to you all is this: we have been working on Training 3 and 4 and he just WILL NOT stretch at all. My instructor laughs each time - saying he should WANT to stretch because he's working into the bridle but he just won't. When given his head he either leaves it hanging at a normal place or pops it up and tightens his back a bit. The thought of stretching just doesn't occur to him. If we're going to the right then he also often ends up counter bent.

I'm also not sure if I'm asking for this the right way. I've tried different things - using a lot of inside rein and leg, letting his head go, lots of leg, more rein, etc etc.

Does anyone have any ideas?
    Thanks!

Not sure if this will help but here's my 2 (uneducated) cents.

My horse also had some trouble stretching and I found that if he used his neck correctly then he wanted to stretch because his neck got tired. Maybe work your horse (correctly) for longer than you would normally so that he gets tired and then he should stretch when you let out your reins because it feels better. It becomes something natural for him to do because his neck is soooooo tired from working correctly. Once he's learned to do it for himself, then you can start teaching him to do it when you let out the reins.

Good luck.