The Chronicle of the Horse
MagazineNewsHorse SportsHorse CareCOTH StoreVoicesThe Chronicle UntackedDirectoriesMarketplaceDates & Results

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Default riding at night!

So, my barn is having a moonlight ride / hayride / bonfire this coming Saturday. They invited all the folks who want to ride in the moonlight ride to do a test run of riding at night tonight, and so I showed up for it.

It was warm (60 ish) and cloudy, so mostly no moon. We left at 7:30, so it was quite completely dark. We rode for an hour and 10 minutes at a steady walk around the farms fields, woods, adjoining park property, and even 4 different water crossings, one belly deep on the horses! In the dark. Did I mention it was dark?

I have never done this before -- hacked a decent amount, but not when I couldn't see! You could see fine in the field margins, but the woods were really dark. And Katy. Was. A. Rock STAR. There were 6 horses and 2 noisy dogs and most of the deer in Howard Co. MD.

I hope the moon is out on Saturday, when we expect a bigger group.

Anyway, I'm still giggling. My horse was so good, even though the hilly trails in the woods were a bit nerve-wracking.

The BO said that horses see 7x better than we do in the dark. I can completely believe it after this ride!

Boy do I <3 my horse!
    I tolerate all kinds of animal idiosyncrasies.
    I've found that I don't tolerate people idiosyncrasies as well. - Casey09

Lori, she is a total Rock Star.

What a fun night! I love that kind of stuff.... my old barn used to do hayrides and moonlight rides every fall, it was a blast!!

Hope you guys have fun this weekend, be sure to snap some pics!
    We couldn't all be cowboys, so some of us are clowns.

Cool! Sounds like lots of fun!

As if Katy Bug would be anything but a total rock star?

sounds like a blast. Horses have great night vision ... not so us frail humans ...

oh maybe i could do one of these at my barn

hmmmmm