The Chronicle of the Horse
MagazineNewsHorse SportsHorse CareCOTH StoreVoicesThe Chronicle UntackedDirectoriesMarketplaceDates & Results

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Default Jobs and Horses?

What kind of hours do you work and what kind of job do you have that allows you to ride in any capacity? Are you single? Married? Kids? Living with someone?

I myself, work as a graphic designer/illustrator and work a fairly steady 9-5 with occasionally freelance on the side. I live on my own and am not married...This allows me to part board and ride 3X a week with a few shows here and there.

just curious.

HF
    ~Proud founder of the "Addicted to Lessons" clique~
    ~Ribbon Ho~

I'm a graphic designer too!

I've been lucky, it has allowed me the opportunity to freelance from home and have lots of flexibility... for both my daughter, and the horse thing!
    We couldn't all be cowboys, so some of us are clowns.

I work as a claims adjuster for an insurance company. They let us set our own schedule, so I work 6:30-3. Which gives me all evening to run around and do horsie things, and still be able to have a little relaxing couch time before I have to go to sleep and start over.

I'm not married, but do have a wonderful boyfriend (no kids) and working that schedule gets the boring part of my day done, then I can get in my horse fix, all before he is done with work at 6, which has helped he and I a lot too, I believe. The evenings and weekend time I can't see him is less as I have plenty of time to do the barn thing and still beat him to my place or his, or meet him out somewhere...and I am a very happy camper
    Strong promoter of READING the entire post before responding.

I have a boring administrative 8-5 office job that pays fairly well for this area. No one seems to mind that I take hour and a half lunches in nice weather to run to the barn for a ride as long as I adjust my hours.