The Chronicle of the Horse
MagazineNewsHorse SportsHorse CareCOTH StoreVoicesThe Chronicle UntackedDirectoriesMarketplaceDates & Results

Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Default When are you a professional??

Hey There!

I have a horse farm in NC and I have been a professional for about 20 years. There is a young woman in the area that teaches lessons, sells and trains horses and has her own website but still competes as a amatuer. I have beginner students that have to compete againest her at recognized shows.

In my opinion, if you teach, train and sell horses and make money doing so.....you are a professional!

What is you're opinion??? Is she afraid to step up and ride against other professional riders so it makes her look good score wise??

In my opinion, step up to the plate and let the ones new to this have a chance!

Yes she is. Does she place higher than your students? If she does, then I'd probably call her out on it. If not? Hand her (and her students) one of your business cards.

Yeah, sounds like someone needs to say "Oh, gee, how silly of the secretary to put you in the amateur class, hon, you better get them to put you in Open since you're a professional!"

Usually not an issue in eventing, though... I'm in NC and I almost never see "Amateur" classes at rec events around here......!

Jennifer

Default You need to read the rules.

Heidi,

You need to look more carefully at the requirements for divisions. To ride in a "rider" division, you cannot have ridden at a certain level higher than you are competing in the previous 24 months. If this person you are calling a professional has not broken this rule, then they are within their right to show in a rider division. Sounds like sour grapes to me. Technically, Teddy was the last horse I ran at the advanced level, which was in 2005, so I could ride in an Advanced rider division, if that was offered.....or even Prelim rider if that was offered. There is not a division for "professional" riders and "amateur" riders.