Results 1 to 11 of 11
  1. #1
    Join Date
    Oct. 3, 2002
    Location
    it's not the edge of the earth, but you can see it from here
    Posts
    12,079

    Exclamation help--anyone having trouble here since the Mozilla upgrade?

    I don't have my settings right, obviously, and Mozilla self-updated yesterday.

    Since then, I can browse this board for like 20 mins or a half hour, then everything locks up. I have to ctl-alt-delete to shut down the "not responding" Mozilla. Come back, all is fine, for another 1/2 hour.

    This doesn't seem to happen on other sites, though is far worse if I have two tabs open and one is CotH.

    Now, maybe it's the Universe telling me a half hour is plenty of CotH time on a workday...

    Thought some more savvy Mozilla users might have a hint.

    FWIW, home 'puter is a brave little toaster... an almost 10 yo Gateway desktop with Windoze '98. Plenty of RAM (well, for a 98! ) and usually the most reliable computer on the planet. I used to be a SysAdmin back in the daze of 3.1 and NT servers, which makes me feel like quite the dinosaur whose been completely left behind.
    InnisFailte Pinto Sporthorses & Coloured Cobs
    ~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

    Bits are like cats, what's one more? (Petstorejunkie)



  2. #2
    Join Date
    Jun. 14, 2006
    Location
    VA
    Posts
    11,372

    Default

    It may be shutting down given your computer setup--you getting any virtual memory errors?

    I just upgraded mine today....will let you know if I have trouble.
    A good horseman doesn't have to tell anyone...the horse already knows.

    Might be a reason, never an excuse...



  3. #3
    Join Date
    Aug. 30, 2007
    Location
    Illinois, USA
    Posts
    8,255

    Default

    Mozilla user here, haven't been prompted to update yet though.. sorry I can't help!
    Tell a Gelding. Ask a Stallion. Discuss it with a Mare... Pray if it's a Pony!



  4. #4
    Join Date
    Jul. 27, 2007
    Location
    Behind the Orange Curtain
    Posts
    9,694

    Default

    I updated day before yesterday and have no issues. However, I have had problems occasionally where I had to start a new user profile for whatever random reason. Try that?

    http://support.mozilla.com/en-US/kb/Profiles



  5. #5
    Join Date
    Mar. 30, 2007
    Location
    Hollowed out volcano in the South Pacific.
    Posts
    11,617

    Default

    I don't think it's browser related at least not in the context of it being solely the browser. They don't really test the Firefox builds on older OS' like Windows 98 because it's discontinued and there are no test beds available unless someone high on the development team has one they use to work it out. Most Firefox core code is written natively under Linux (which is why the Linux version will always be more recent than the one used for Windows) and then migrated to the build used for Microsoft OS' where they tweak and revise to make it work properly for whatever changes Microsoft has thrown into the latest update packages for Vista and XP.
    Thus do we growl that our big toes have, at this moment, been thrown up from below!



  6. #6
    Join Date
    May. 21, 2004
    Location
    N. TX...just N.East of paradise...
    Posts
    2,026

    Default

    pintopiaffe, I share your dinosaur status. I bet most people here have zero experience with Windows 3.1 (or 3.11 for that matter). I still have nightmares about driver updates I was an OS/2 admin who was pissed at MicroSwift for stealing their interface for Win95....

    I'd bet it's simply Win98's weak makeup that's causing the troubles. There are so many new features to web stuff these days that the OS probably just can't handle it, all the various million zillion process threads are intertwining into a 'horse tripping' experience for your browser and OS...

    Time to upgrade my friend. You'll wonder why you ever waited! It's always the network admin's family that suffers the cruddy computers...(but not at work , we got the fun toys FIRST!)
    "As a rule we disbelieve all the facts and theories for which we have no use."- William James
    ~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

    Proud member of the Wheat Loss Clique.



  7. #7
    Join Date
    Jul. 27, 2007
    Location
    Behind the Orange Curtain
    Posts
    9,694

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Melelio View Post
    pintopiaffe, I share your dinosaur status. I bet most people here have zero experience with Windows 3.1 (or 3.11 for that matter). I still have nightmares about driver updates I was an OS/2 admin who was pissed at MicroSwift for stealing their interface for Win95....
    LOL, in college I was so modern. I had a 386 with a 40 mb hard drive and Windows 3.0. I even had super VGA!

    I had one of the first model HP inkjet printers that was so awesome- everyone ooh-ed and aah-ed over the quality compared to their dot matrix!



  8. #8
    Join Date
    Oct. 21, 1999
    Location
    Rochester, NY
    Posts
    12,487

    Default

    yup, another windows 98 user here. I haven't upgraded to the new Firefox because I'm afraid my computer can't handle it. It's dying anyways, so, if I want to watch all of those horsey videos, I think I'm due for a new computer.
    Originally Posted by Alagirl
    We just love to shame poor people...when in reality, we are all just peasants.



  9. #9
    Join Date
    Mar. 30, 2007
    Location
    Hollowed out volcano in the South Pacific.
    Posts
    11,617

    Default

    Windows XP is the only way to go. At least until Microsoft comes out with something just as serviceable.
    Thus do we growl that our big toes have, at this moment, been thrown up from below!



  10. #10
    Join Date
    Oct. 3, 2002
    Location
    it's not the edge of the earth, but you can see it from here
    Posts
    12,079

    Default

    Ambrey--I figured out how to make the dot matrix print PIGCHORES! *And* special fonts. Which was quite the feat.

    Still have my first laptop--Yep, a 386, with--get this--an 800MB HARD DRIVE. RAM has come so far past that it's not even funny.

    The thing is though, they WORKED. Very few lockups. God forbid I forget to disable my thumb drive in the fancy-schmancy Windows XP at work, lock up, curse at me, etc. At home, pull the plug, swap it for the camera, etc. etc. She keeps right on kicking.

    <sigh>

    But yeah, Louise, I get jealous of the videos. I got to watch the 'lympics at work, but only because it's a whole patriotic thing. Otherwise, no 'net.
    InnisFailte Pinto Sporthorses & Coloured Cobs
    ~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

    Bits are like cats, what's one more? (Petstorejunkie)



  11. #11
    Join Date
    Sep. 17, 2003
    Location
    AridZona
    Posts
    2,874

    Default

    It's freezing occasionally on me, but that appears to be a COTH server issue and not Mozilla/Firefox related.
    Delicious strawberry flavored death!



Similar Threads

  1. CL pony needs an upgrade
    By HeartofGlass in forum Off Course
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: Aug. 3, 2012, 09:47 PM
  2. What do you think of this guy for an upgrade?
    By showhorsegallery in forum Off Course
    Replies: 36
    Last Post: Aug. 2, 2012, 06:31 PM
  3. CL ad - horses need an upgrade!
    By spacytracy in forum Off Course
    Replies: 8
    Last Post: Jun. 1, 2011, 04:31 PM
  4. Replies: 0
    Last Post: Apr. 7, 2010, 02:55 PM
  5. MOZILLA warning on RID Stallion Auction Ad--IT'S SAFE--Read below...
    By pintopiaffe in forum Sport Horse Breeding
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: Feb. 17, 2010, 01:35 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •