The Chronicle of the Horse
MagazineNewsHorse SportsHorse CareCOTH StoreVoicesThe Chronicle UntackedDirectoriesMarketplaceDates & Results

Default Nearly impossible? Event horse to lease.

**I am not trying to make this an advertisement post of any sort*** Please let me know if I need to delete this!

I am a college student looking to get back into eventing after a 3 year hiatus. My last event horse I lease needed to be retired and I just never got the urge to get back into it. I got a job at a H/J barn and have been in that scene since then. I've been lucky in getting things to ride in the H/J world, and I really do love it. But, I miss eventing! I work for an event trainer, and the more that I am around her barn the more I REALLY want to find something again!

Catch 22. My parents will not help me. They pay for college and insurance, but they will not spend a dime on a horse. period, which is fair. I would LOVE to get back into the event world and find something I can event up to training with. I only went thru training, so I'm not all THAT experienced. What are my chances of finding something to free/or really cheaply to lease? I could of course go the route of an ottb but I really dont want to own something. I would ideally love to find a horse of a kid that is off at college and wants to keep the horse going. Does that sound very un-realistic? Should I just suck it up and not get a horse until I am out of college and can really afford to buy something and put money into?

Thoughts/suggestions welcome!!!
    ~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~