The Chronicle of the Horse
MagazineNewsHorse SportsHorse CareCOTH StoreVoicesThe Chronicle UntackedDirectoriesMarketplaceDates & Results

Red face Trying to start my OTTB Rescue...

Hello, I am new to this board. I am looking into starting an OTTB Rescue. I want to do the 501-c non-profit as well. Although I am not good with paperwork or Red Tape.

So now I am wanting to find my next batch to save. I am hoping to help give the slow, unwanted horses somewhere to go where they can be retrained, and have a great life after the track. So now I need to get the word out! I am in mid-Missouri.

The only track I know that would be close to me would be Fairway Park in S.IL.
    Does anyone know any trainers at that park. I need to start making connections.

I was also hoping to find someone who might be interested in helping me get me Non-Profit Status.

Any information would be greatly appreciated to help me get "Softer Strides". Up and running!
    (]~~[) Amy (]~~[)

* I hope I never get too old to ride, despite the injuries and pain, because I cannot imagine not doing the thing I most enjoy in my life.*

This is a general question, better posted on Off Course. Cowgirljen & MayS both have rescues. Cowgirljen has written a book on how to start a rescue & I think the book is required reading. Many people would like to start rescues & there have been many threads on it, so do several searches would give you a lot of information.

Once you have searched & found the threads on starting a rescue & printed them out & read them & purchased Cowgirljen's book & read it, if you still have questions, then you can post those specific questions here to get more help.