The Chronicle of the Horse
MagazineNewsHorse SportsHorse CareCOTH StoreVoicesThe Chronicle UntackedDirectoriesMarketplaceDates & Results

Page 1 of 5 123 ... LastLast

Default Your Draft and Draft Cross In Dressage

I thought it might be a nice break for us "Draftys" to talk about the training of our horses. The setbacks, surprises, and progress you have made with them. I am really excited to hear about the methods that people are using for their training at all levels.

I'll contribute:

I have been retraining my 9 year-old percheron in dressage for the past 8 months. She was a hunter previously. (I am no longer able to jump regularly anymore due to injury.) We are schooling the 2nd level tests with some 3rd level work thrown in.

Easy for us:
    Forward
    Lateral work
    Trot-reinback-trot

What was hard but we have fixed:
    Canter, she used to tune me out and RUN. (We had this problem a bit as a hunter, but the fences would back her off.) I just reinforced my half-halts when she ran through them by immediately walking, walk two strides, and resuming the canter. Lots of canter transitions every session. Tons.

Canter to walk transitions. New spiffy bank breaking saddle fixed these.

Walk-pirouettes. She had a bit of trouble with stepping out to the right until I realised that I was blocking her outside leg with too much outside rein.

What still needs fixing:

Flying changes. I am terrible at riding them and since she had auto-changes as a hunter I have very little control over them. I am going to have the trainer work on these.

Overexcitement in the medium/extended gaits. She can do them, but control at the end is still iffy. We are only schooling them along shorter distances and only occasionally going the full length. I would rather have to push her on in a test.