The Chronicle of the Horse
MagazineNewsHorse SportsHorse CareCOTH StoreVoicesThe Chronicle UntackedDirectoriesMarketplaceDates & Results

Default To tape or not to tape....??

I wil be doing a low level (tadpole) combined training show in about a month or so. I plan on braiding my pony, but I was wondering(Im new to the whole CT/dressage stuff) would it look out of place if I put the white braiding tape around his braids?

I wouldn't say out of place but something to consider...

I don't know what color your horse is, but just be aware that if your horse has a dark mane and you put white tape on the braids it makes whatever the horse is doing with it's neck very apparent. Any issues with bend, poll height, tension, etc. will be even more obvious to the judge. So, at lower levels it may draw too much attention to little errors!

Good luck at the show!

Thanks. Fortunantly, my horse is a palomino paint so his mane is pretty light.

I wouldn't. For me, the white braids are for the higher levels. Give him nice braids that show off his neck best, make him super clean and shiny and that's your turnout sorted.

Good luck!
    Horse Show Names Free name website with over 6200 names. Want to add? PM me!

Wink

Unless braids are absolutely even, and of uniform size, tape looks awful.

And for CT I'd skip it. Sometimes there is barely enough time to unbraid w/o dealing with tape.
    Some riders change their horse, they change their saddle, they change their teacher; they never change themselves.

Very few people use tape for dressage any more. It was all the rage years ago, but you almost never see it at dressage shows now.
    Quote Originally Posted by Linny View Post
    Those martingales were so taut, you could play Ode to Joy on them with a comb

I still love it though & still see quite a bit on the horses in Europe. I wish it'd come back & be used more here.