The Chronicle of the Horse
MagazineNewsHorse SportsHorse CareCOTH StoreVoicesThe Chronicle UntackedDirectoriesMarketplaceDates & Results

View Poll Results: How do you support your horse riding hobby?

Voters
129. You may not vote on this poll
  • I work and earn $35,000 or less

20 15.50%
  • I work and earn 36,000-50,000

16 12.40%
  • I work and earn 51,000-75,000

18 13.95%
  • I work and earn 76,000-100,000

17 13.18%
  • I work and earn 100,000+

25 19.38%
  • I am supported by a parent, husband or significant other

24 18.60%
  • I am a lottery winner

0 0%
  • I ahve a trsut fund/inheritance or investment and do not need to work

4 3.10%
  • I work in the horse industry. Income? what income?

13 10.08%
  • I do not actually ride, and/or am on social assistance

1 0.78%
Multiple Choice Poll.
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Default Spinoff- how do you support your dressage hobby?

How do you find the money to keep riding?
    "The Threat of Internet Ignorance: ... we are witnessing the rise of an age of equestrian disinformation, one where a trusting public can graze on nonsense packaged to look like fact."-LRG-AF

like that guy on the riding mower in the TV commercial...I am in debt up to my eyeballs!

seriously though, this may become the case when the prices for this summer's hay are announced

I'm at College so my Mum helps out a lot. She covers my grazing, feed and registration in general. My SO (who I have been with for 5 years) also helps out when I have overspent on the ponies that week

We sell 1-2 horses a year (In theory anyway) in order to keep an income coming in to buy others/continue to work with the ones we have.

I also ride horses for other people, compete for other people, break in etc etc. That pays my entry fees, petrol costs, lessons and any extra money that I have left over goes into the horse account to help Mum pay for feed etc.

Needless to say we barely break even, but what horsey person does