The Chronicle of the Horse
MagazineNewsHorse SportsHorse CareCOTH StoreVoicesThe Chronicle UntackedDirectoriesMarketplaceDates & Results

Default sore ankle from riding - any ideas?

Hi!

I have been lurking and learning from the messages for awhile and finally registered today so I could post.

I got my first horse the end of January - a 10 year old Tennessee Walking Horse. I got her for trail riding and I am having a blast with her. She has never been shown. She is the perfect first horse for me and she is teaching me a lot!

I am currently riding in a Trailmaster Aussie saddle from Downunder. Overall the saddle in very comfortable and fits her very well. We went to Eminence MO last month and rode over 100 miles - wow what a trip!!! But, since I have been back, now even if I go on shorter rides my left ankle just kills me and I can hardly walk when I get off. Any ideas on what I might try to fix this problem? The saddle currently has brass 4 bar stirrups on it. Since I am new to horses and all that goes with them, I am not sure how to better describe the stirrups – sorry.

Thanks in advance for any help you can give me!

Toni

Well, if you're new to the saddle as well as the horse, you'll probably have some aches and pains as you adjust. Particularly if you're going to ride out for 100 miles. I would hurt after that regardless of the saddle or horse -- though it would more likely be my knees, not my ankles! How broken in is the saddle? I don't know much about Aussie saddles, but maybe you need to do the old oil and broom handle trick so that the stirrups are positioned better.

Congrats on your new horse! I'm also a relatively new TWH rider. Aren't they great?
    "Our greatest glory is not in never falling, but in rising every time we fall." - Confucious
    <>< I.I.