The Chronicle of the Horse
MagazineNewsHorse SportsHorse CareCOTH StoreVoicesThe Chronicle UntackedDirectoriesMarketplaceDates & Results

Question Staff Horse

I have a question for all you whips out there...how long did it take your horse to get used to 1) the whip 2) the hounds. I have a lovely horse that I really do not want to sell (if I sell, I will most likely not hunt, which I do not want to do), but I cannot get him to not spook away from the whip (even just leisurly hanging/swinging) and he also has no regard for the hounds (ie. wouldnt mind stepping on one when he spooked away from the whip). I am also relatively new to whipping-in, so i don't have a 100% handle on what I'm doing and am feeling a tad overwhelmed. Any advice would be much appreciated!
    It's psychosomatic. You need a lobotomy. I'll get a saw.

First off, what kind of whip do you use?

I have found that the softer lashes can be more tolerable for sensitive horses. But it will be harder to crack when needed.

Secondly, the best time to desensitize a horse to a whip is not with hounds. It's out on your usual, regular ride.

I like to play a little game where I swing the whip very slowly in a circle that is parrellel with my horse and just let the tip of the popper hit the ground. As you walk on varying ground this can be a little difficult. And as the horse becomes more comfortable with the sound of the whip cutting the air, you can speed up the circles. The key to this is never to let the whip hit your horse.
    The more we look for that perfect spot, the harder it is to find.

Quote Originally Posted by Outfox View Post
    First off, what kind of whip do you use?

I have found that the softer lashes can be more tolerable for sensitive horses. But it will be harder to crack when needed.

Secondly, the best time to desensitize a horse to a whip is not with hounds. It's out on your usual, regular ride.