The Chronicle of the Horse
MagazineNewsHorse SportsHorse CareCOTH StoreVoicesThe Chronicle UntackedDirectoriesMarketplaceDates & Results

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Default Camping at an event?

I am cross-posting this from the driving forum, because I want to get as much advice as possible! Although I am a driver, I am sure there are many new endurance and trail riders that could benefit from this same information. I know you guys have been there and done that!

The financial situation being as it is in these days, I have decided to camp out with my horse at the CDEs this year. I have a nice little pen for my mare and have purchased a canopy to go over the top of it. It even has screened walls, to help with the bugs!

For myself, I bought a nice little camping tent that I am able to set up on my own, and is quite comfortable. Since this will be my first time camping at an event, I am wondering if anyone can share their favorite camping tips, checklists, must-haves, etc. I always travel on my own, and meet up with all my local friends at the event. I am really excited to begin my adventures for this season, but do not want to end up finding myself forgetting some essential!

My most pressing question of the moment is...how the heck do you stay relatively clean at a 4-day, 3 night event??? Cowboy shower? How do you manage this sort of thing?

What other important tips do you have to stay comfortable while camping at an event? Are there any web sites that I can reference also?

Thanks so much for any assistance!
    Finch Meadow Farm
    Performance Miniatures
    We love Combined Driving and it shows!