The Chronicle of the Horse
MagazineNewsHorse SportsHorse CareCOTH StoreVoicesThe Chronicle UntackedDirectoriesMarketplaceDates & Results

Default Buying a Dressage Saddle- IL saddle fitters

I am looking for a Saddle fitter that will come out to Peotone IL. Its about an hour south of Chicago.

Since I am new to buying a Dressage saddle I do not want to buy a saddle with out trying it first and having a professional determine that it fits properly.

If I cannot find a saddle fitter that will come out with a bunch of saddles I was thinking about trying to buy via a online demo program. What are some good websites that offer a demo program on used saddles?

I don't know about saddlers that will come to you, but I know there's a certified Master Saddler at the tack store called "Saddler's Row". You might wanna google them, call their saddler, and ask her if she can help or perhaps she might know of another saddler that can come out to you. She's extremely knowledgeable, and friendly.
    Tell a Gelding. Ask a Stallion. Discuss it with a Mare... Pray if it's a Pony!

I don't think they do come this far south. Do you know what her name is?

Quote Originally Posted by GallopGal View Post
    I don't think they do come this far south. Do you know what her name is?
    Kate Ballard.

I know of a few saddlers in central IL, but unfortunately they're all mainly western, so they wouldn't have a bunch of Dressage saddles to try. Around here there's a severe deficit of English 'stuff' in general.

EDIT; Just looked up Peotone on a map. Perhaps you might even want to look for saddlers in Valpo, IN (Valparaiso, that is ). You might have a better bet that way.

You could try Julie Kaye -- I know she goes to MN and probably does IL too.

http://www.juliekaye.com/

She did a great job on a fitting for me.

Quote Originally Posted by Nix View Post
    You could try Julie Kaye -- I know she goes to MN and probably does IL too.

http://www.juliekaye.com/