The Chronicle of the Horse
MagazineNewsHorse SportsHorse CareCOTH StoreVoicesThe Chronicle UntackedDirectoriesMarketplaceDates & Results
 
Results 1 to 17 of 17
  1. #1
    Join Date
    Mar. 8, 2004
    Location
    Baltimore, MD
    Posts
    19,748

    Default Database errors?

    Is anyone besides me getting database error messages all the time the past few days? I have never gotten an error message on this forum ever before a few days ago. Its driving me nuts! There is one thread on the racing forum where someone is trying to share the pedigrees of her soon to be born foals and I can't read it. I am sure she thinks no one gives a crap as its now halfway down the page with no replies. I have my own thread going on the sport horse breeding forum that I am unable to get into more often than not. I have reported it once as suggested, not the 50 times I got the message though. Any ideas?



  2. #2
    Join Date
    Mar. 30, 2007
    Location
    Hollowed out volcano in the South Pacific.
    Posts
    11,125

    Default

    I have only had one.
    Thus do we growl that our big toes have,
    at this moment, been thrown up from below!



  3. #3
    Join Date
    Mar. 8, 2004
    Location
    Baltimore, MD
    Posts
    19,748

    Default

    See if you can read either of the threads I mentioned please.



  4. #4
    Join Date
    Mar. 30, 2007
    Location
    Hollowed out volcano in the South Pacific.
    Posts
    11,125

    Default

    Everything seems to be in working order.
    Thus do we growl that our big toes have,
    at this moment, been thrown up from below!



  5. #5
    Join Date
    Mar. 8, 2004
    Location
    Baltimore, MD
    Posts
    19,748

    Default

    Weird, I still can't get in. Can you read the one on this forum about insurance if her friend's horse is at her farm?



  6. #6
    Join Date
    Nov. 18, 2004
    Location
    Catonsville, MD
    Posts
    6,894

    Default

    laurierace --

    Try clearing the cache on your browser.

    Are you using Firefox or IE for a browser?
    I tolerate all kinds of animal idiosyncrasies.
    I've found that I don't tolerate people idiosyncrasies as well. - Casey09




  7. #7
    Join Date
    Feb. 8, 2006
    Posts
    120

    Default

    I just moved this to the help forum. Now, let's see if we can figure out what's happening!

    I just checked the first thread you suggested and also didn't have a problem.

    How about you try the default solution of clearing your computer's cookies and see if you're still having a problem?



  8. #8
    Join Date
    Mar. 8, 2004
    Location
    Baltimore, MD
    Posts
    19,748



  9. #9
    Join Date
    Nov. 1, 2005
    Posts
    500

    Default

    I am also having this problem on and off. Currently I can not get on the hyperlipemia thread in horse care.

    I tried clearing my cookies, but it didn't help.

    Laurierace, I went to your profile. We both us aol. Maybe thats the problem.


    Susan



  10. #10
    Join Date
    Oct. 29, 1999
    Posts
    14,488

    Default

    I also am getting a LOT of database errors. I am also on AOL. This has only been in the last few weeks, so for some reason, there must be compatablility issues with the AOL browser now. I will have to pay attention to see if I am getting them on my Firefox browser.



  11. #11
    Join Date
    Dec. 12, 2007
    Posts
    4,036

    Default

    There have been past issues re: using aol to access the board (see sticky at top of the forum), though these error messages appear to be a new variation.

    We'll notify the tech guys of this potential aol problem and get back to you here, meanwhile try accessing the BB with another browser as FHC suggested.

    Thanks!



  12. #12
    Join Date
    Dec. 12, 2007
    Posts
    4,036

    Default

    The experts sayeth that, indeed, AOL does generally have a hard time dealing with vBulletin (upon which our board is based).

    The immediate solution to AOL-based problems is to use another browser to utilize the board, but if you send me a screen shot of the error message you're receiving--or at least a copy of the text of the error--I'll forward it along for further diagnostics.

    Thanks!



  13. #13
    Join Date
    Oct. 29, 1999
    Posts
    14,488

    Default

    Thanks! I will get a s/s next time it happens. It does go days with no problem, and then repeatedly does it for a few hours. Maybe AOL can't get in when busy?



  14. #14
    Join Date
    Mar. 8, 2004
    Location
    Baltimore, MD
    Posts
    19,748

    Default

    I think it is caused by or at least exacerbated by AOL, I have been switching to IE when it happens and reading the threads that way. Not sure why its happening all of a sudden though, I have been reading this forum for many years without one single error message via AOL. Oh well, its not that big of a deal now that I found a way around it.



  15. #15
    Join Date
    Oct. 29, 1999
    Posts
    14,488

    Default

    Here is the s/s, and I got right back in on AOL to post this, but sometimes I get them repeatedly, switch to FF, and later AOL works fine again.

    I am really a Firefox fan, but it is easier for me to be on AOL as my new mail just pops up.
    Attached Thumbnails Attached Thumbnails Click image for larger version. 

Name:	database error.JPG 
Views:	76 
Size:	47.4 KB 
ID:	20183  



  16. #16
    Join Date
    Dec. 12, 2007
    Posts
    4,036

    Default

    Thanks for the screen capture FHC. Here's what our tech advisors had to say:

    I think that changing browsers is not the best but only solution for the AOL users who want to access the BB.
    'Fairview Horse Center' user on the BB is right. When BB gets busy with a lot of users, AOL just gives up too easily.
    I believe that only solution for this is using a different browser at least in the hours when BB has a lot of users online.
    I wish there was a button we could tell you to push or a setting to adjust, but it looks like the best plan if you prefer using AOL, is to use it when it's working, and if the board is busy and it's not, use another browser.

    Hope this helps!



  17. #17
    Join Date
    Oct. 29, 1999
    Posts
    14,488

    Default

    Thanks! Sounds like a good plan. Anyone that would like to try Firefox, here is the free download http://www.mozilla.com/en-US/firefox/



Similar Threads

  1. Errors in Dressage at Rolex
    By Halfhalt08 in forum Eventing
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: Apr. 23, 2010, 05:18 PM
  2. Dressage show errors!!!!!!!
    By luv2piaffe in forum Dressage
    Replies: 17
    Last Post: Aug. 20, 2009, 09:06 PM
  3. Horse Add Errors
    By WB Mom in forum Off Course
    Replies: 19
    Last Post: Aug. 8, 2009, 01:04 PM
  4. Whoops! Horse Ad Errors
    By gladys in forum Off Course
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: Aug. 2, 2009, 02:13 PM
  5. Scoring errors... wwyd
    By Carol O in forum Dressage
    Replies: 21
    Last Post: Mar. 13, 2008, 09:51 AM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •