The Chronicle of the Horse
MagazineNewsHorse SportsHorse CareCOTH StoreVoicesThe Chronicle UntackedDirectoriesMarketplaceDates & Results

Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Default Ribbons, who gets them?

I am fairly new to dressage but not showing, I have a friend is So Cal that has a horse that her trainer is helping her with and has taken to a few local shows. The trainer gets paid to ride, My friend pays for the classes, the trailer, cleans the tack and pays the trainer too and the trainer is keeping the ribbons. Is this normal practice in dressage? It is not in other disciplines that I know of....
    Any opinions?
    Mai Tai aka Tyler RIP March 1994-December 2011
    Grief is the price we pay for love- Gretchen Jackson
    "And here she comes. Is it a bird? Is it a plane? No, it's ZENYATTA!"

It's not normal practice where I'm from...
    Proud member of the EDRF

Where I'm from... whoever pays for the class keeps the ribbons.

\"For all those men who say, \"Why buy the cow when you can get the milk for free,\" here\'s an update for you: Nowadays 80% of women are against marriage. Why? Because women realize it\'s not worth buying an entire pig just to get a little sausage.\"-

I've always thought all ribbons, prize money and prizes (coolers, cars, etc.) go to the owner of the horse. Such a problem to have!
    "Dreams are the touchstone of our characters." Henry David Thoreau
    Touchstone Farm
    www.bytouchstonefarm.com

Personally, I think the owner gets the goodies. If I am riding someone else's horse, I always offer them the goodies.... now I have had some owners tell me to keep them (I got a nice cooler and saddle pad this way) .

I wouldn't want a trainer who would take that kind of stuff. Seems like your trainers job at that kind of level (not pro) is to help you and your horse be a better team. They oughta want you to have the pleasure of having the ribbons your horse won, even if the trainer helped him win those ribbons.