The Chronicle of the Horse
MagazineNewsHorse SportsHorse CareCOTH StoreVoicesThe Chronicle UntackedDirectoriesMarketplaceDates & Results

Unhappy Help with hands!!! Im desperate!

I started riding dressage about a little over a year ago. My horse and I did hunters previously but he is learning dressage. However my big problem is my hands. I feel like a little kid, they post with me and move with me. I never had this problem when I rode hunters and I have been riding for around 15 years on and off.

How do I steady them? I have tried a bucking strap on my dressage saddle so that I can just hold my hands there for now, but they still move horribly! Its so embarrassing because I am going recognized this spring in training level. My trainer has told me to push down when I post so that they remain steady but that has only helped a bit.

Any tips on how to get them steady again? I never had this problem before!! I am ready to tie them to my saddle (kidding of course) but I am so frustrated!!
    Last edited by LD1129; Jan. 23, 2008 at 01:13 PM.

it's not the edge of the earth, but you can see it from here

Without seeing you, I'm guessing that it's tension in the shoulders, upper body, and elbows.

When you post, try thinking about bringing your hips *through* your elbows. That requires keeping elbows down, back and 'heavy.' Hips dance forward through them. Upper body stays more back than in hunter posting, but slightly inclined.

I have had students undo the pad straps on their saddle pad, then put their pinkies through the straps, to help get the feeling. Straps have to be long enough (most square pads are, especially if they are velcro) for hands to be in the right spot. Twine to the dees set at the right length will work too. Basically, what you want is to limit your hands' motion until you can figure out what that feels like in the rest of your body.