The Chronicle of the Horse
MagazineNewsHorse SportsHorse CareCOTH StoreVoicesThe Chronicle UntackedDirectoriesMarketplaceDates & Results

Default Keeping yourself "back"...

Ok, so I am truly a hunter/jumper rider, but I am beginning to learn about dressage. I have always wanted to take some dressage lessons, but being a broke college student, I could never afford it. Now I am riding a horse for a boarder at the barn who is coming off of a knee injury.

The horse is a morgan, used to do saddle seat, so he is truly a very different ride for me, and I have to sit waaay back on him. The woman who owns him spent a year as a working student with Lendon Grey, became a certified instructor, and is basically teaching me to ride dressage, but im working with her horse at the same time.

So my question is, being a hunter rider im not used to sitting "so far back", and I have trouble keeping myself there because its a little different feeling. Any advice on helping me keep the position?

otherwise im excited to be learning about dressage, because it will only make me a better rider!

thanks!
    *We tolerate behaviors in human beings that would horrify us if we saw them in a horse.*
    R.I.P El Salvador*
    [COLOR="SlateGray"]