The Chronicle of the Horse
MagazineNewsHorse SportsHorse CareCOTH StoreVoicesThe Chronicle UntackedMarketplaceDates & Results

Page 1 of 4 123 ... LastLast

Default What is the ideal horse height for you...why?

With all the success of Teddy and other ponies out there, as well as sucesses of taller horses such as the 17 hand Albany II who took Phyllis Dawson to the Olympics, I was wondering what everyone here rode and why? I know in my horse search I was only wanting to look at horses over 16hands and I am only 5' 6", so certainly don't NEED a tall horse, it was just personal preference. I guess I WRONGLY had the impression that I needed a bigger horse to jump (mind you I am just learning and only jumping 2 feet-LOL). I adore my horse, but find myself wondering what it feels like to ride something smaller-is it less intimidating (not far to fall), does their stride feel very different from a bigger horse? I've ridden lots of horses from 14.1 hand Morgans to 18.2 hand Belgian, but have only jumped horses that were 16.0 hands +.

So my question is, when you bought your most recent horse, was height a factor and why? If you have evented both ponies and horses, what is your preference?

Edited to add: I always thought a bigger horse would make me look smaller LOL! Not that I am a large person, but who doesn't want to look a little smaller? HAHA!
    Last edited by allisontatman; Oct. 3, 2007 at 11:56 AM.

Gwen is almost 16.2, Bonnie is 16H even. They are both kind of "just right" for me, height-wise...I can mount from the ground if I have to and they even wear the same size blankets--very convenient! I don't mind if a horse is a little smaller so long as it takes up my leg. I've never ridden REALLY big horses consistently so I can't say whether I care for that feel or not. Every horse I've had (other than my little QH/Arab mare who didn't jump) was between 16H and 16.2, so I'm very much in the "average" group, I guess.