PDA

View Full Version : I swear some people looking for farm help are smoking CRACK

grandprixjump
Jan. 12, 2014, 04:36 PM
One ad that just came up today is taking care of a 35 stall barn with currently 17 horses, in exchange for board for 1 horse, a one room apt, and $400 a MONTH.... Good luck with that one...

And that's 6 days a week 11 hour days with a 1-2 hour lunch break.

beowulf
Jan. 12, 2014, 04:50 PM
Huh. That is extremely reasonable for someone out of HS if you ask me. I'd jump at that if I was a freshly graduated senior wanting to take some time to improve my riding and working repertoire.

TBH, when I graduated HS I went to work for a BNT in VT. My parents paid BNT 400$ a month for me to "rent" his tiny apt above the barn. In exchange, I worked 13-15hrs a day every day and "worked" off keeping my horse there. I got lessons a few times a week, with some lessons from his assistant trainer. I wasn't paid and my parents were paying BNT $$ to basically let me work on his farm in exchange for lessons.

It was a win/win all around, but totally unfair for anyone who is trying to *make* a living.

In my area, I see people who offer living quarters and board in exchange for work, but NO wages. At least these people are PAYING something, even if it's pennies to most horse people..

grandprixjump
Jan. 12, 2014, 05:02 PM
The difference is you said BNT, that makes it a learning experience, Not a barn slave... Huge difference...

jetsmom
Jan. 12, 2014, 05:14 PM
Caring for 17 horses, taking 20 min per stall (assuming they are stalled, is only about 5.67 hrs a day. Add another hr per day for feeding/turnout, and it is 6.67 hrs.