PDA

View Full Version : Posting photo to profile



BeastieSlave
Apr. 7, 2006, 05:02 PM
I admit I am computer-challenged.
I cannot seem to post one of my fine pictures to my profile. When I try to load it, the computer thinks about it for a while, then I get a message that says it is "not a valid image". Should I be offended? Seriously, I could understand if it said the image was too big or something... is it because I scanned the picture and it's a .bmp file? Help!

easyklc
Apr. 7, 2006, 05:12 PM
Try to convert it into a jpeg file instead (you can do this in your file editing options).

Perhaps the COTH cyber ghosts do not like bmp files?!

furlong47
Apr. 7, 2006, 08:30 PM
The image needs to be less than 500 by 500 pixels, so check that out first. It also need to be under 100 KB in file size. Bitmaps tend to be large files and this may be where the problem is. Definitely try converting to .jpg (open your file in whatever program you use, go to File, Save As... and there should be a drop down menu next to "Save as type". That is where you can select .jpg)

BeastieSlave
Apr. 7, 2006, 08:56 PM
Thanks so much easyklc & furlong47!!! changing to .jpg did the trick :D You're so smart :yes: