PDA

View Full Version : Anyone built a pre-fab house?

4Martini
Mar. 30, 2013, 08:22 PM
We're thinking about putting up a small cabin. Some of the pre-fab options look pretty nice. Just curious if anyone has experience with prefabs.

Peril
Mar. 30, 2013, 09:05 PM
I have some experience with modernist pre-fab. At one point I was seriously considering a Rocio Romero and visited a couple in situ. I now have a lustron (ur-pre-fab). To which I was first introduced at MoMA home delivery installation:

http://www.momahomedelivery.org

I adore my house and am a fan of prefab while I understand some down sides. Let me know here or via pm if you'd like to discuss further.

Bluey
Mar. 30, 2013, 09:16 PM
I am not sure what kind of house you are talking about.

Our neighbor bought a prefabricated house, built in a factory, that was hauled and set in place.
A few years later he added one more room to it, a sun room.

You can't tell his house is not built on the spot and it has all kinds of nice features inside.

I considered it, but at that time the company that makes them was almost a year behind, they are very popular for far off rural areas as here.
I had mine stick built to get it in quicker.

Kryswyn
Mar. 30, 2013, 11:15 PM