PDA

View Full Version : Long Line/Ground Driving Rein Position

Merry Fox
Nov. 5, 2012, 09:26 AM
I'm new to long line/ground driving work and have a couple of questions about rein position/attachement. As and FYI, I am currently working with a qualified instructor be begin learning the basics but in doing additional research I've seen several different approaches and I'm curious as what others here prefer to use in their training programs.

Listed below are a couple of variations that I've come across--can anyone share pros or cons or theories why each is used?

1. Horse in surcingle with lines coming from bit through mid-height rings to hands (one rein on each side of the horse).

2. Horse in saddle (no surcingle) with lines from bit through dropped stirrups to hands (one rein on each side of the horse).

3. Horse in saddle that has a grab strap attached to pommel with both reins passing through a ring on the grap strap and coming to the hands (one rein passing over the saddle seat). This seems to be more double line lounging than driving to me but I'm not sure.

SmartAlex
Nov. 5, 2012, 12:10 PM
IMO the only difference between "double longeing" and ground driving is that in double longeing, the horse is going in a circle and does not have to think as much about where he is going. In driving, the horse goes on ahead of the handler and has to take some responsibility.

I "double longe" or ground drive with a surcingle. That's what they are made for.

On the occassions I have run lines through stirrups, whether western or english, I've found #1 the reins are too low unless you run your english stirrups up the leathers and fasten them there somehow and #2 the weight of the stirrups interfere with the feel of the reins.