PDA

View Full Version : Reclaiming the partnership

archieflies
Jul. 16, 2012, 10:32 PM
I need some encouragement. My mare has never been easy... that's why I could afford her... but what we had was good. Never perfect, but we enjoyed each other and managed to keep each other alive. We were going Training when I got pregnant. Mare went to my trainer on a broodmare lease last spring. I didn't ride any (except maybe a dozen rides on my pony since my baby was born in November), and she wasn't ridden any. I got her back in May after her filly died. I started riding her again 5 weeks ago, after she had had about 14 months off.

Things were pretty bad right off. I mean, I expected bad... she had a long time off, after all, and I wasn't exactly in top form... I walked and trotted just a bit the first ride. Nearly experienced spontaneous combustion when I first asked for the trot... that was expected, I guess. I wasn't about to canter. Second ride went about the same... had one small bolt-then-buck experience, but got her under control. I wasn't too confident, so hauled to my trainer so I could have a little supervision for our first canter... spent a half hour just trying to ride through the bucks... which is much harder after a c-section. Mare has always been a bit of a bucker at home, but has never, ever done it away from home, so I was a little disappointed. The next ride, at home, we were just doing some easy hacking when she exploded into full-out bronc bucks... the angry I'm-going-to-kill-you kind. I've been a bit scared to mess with her since then... have pretty much just gone on trail rides and done a little walk/trot arena work. I attempted to canter again tonight... got two strides before her heels were in the air and wrenched my back pretty good and had to quit. :(