PDA

View Full Version : Who has fans installed in their trailer. Effective? Worth it? Safe?

vxf111
Jul. 16, 2012, 11:52 AM
I'm new to trailer ownership but I already love my Hawk so much I want to take it home at night and sleep in it ;)

One thing that has been suggested to me as a potential 'add on' are fans for the horses. I have one very large horse who has a propensity to get very hot and very sweaty in the trailer. The way my Hawk is configured, I have two big windows on each side that can drop down to be just grates and allow a lot of air in, and then typical windows with sliding screens alongside the big side windows and also in the tack area. There's also a sliding glas window between the tack room and the horse compartment. What I don't have is the ability to go with the back door partially opened, because I have full back doors with the ramp on top, not the half doors on top, ramp bottom.

I took Big'n'Sweaty for a ride this weekend, just practicing. Granted, Sunday was insanely humid and 93+ degrees. I had all the screens open, but didn't drop down the windows (I am worried about flying debris getting in his eye). He was on board for about 25 minutes max. When I unloaded him he was quite hot.

My plan, for now, is to put a fly mask on him and open the drop down windows. But I'm wondering if fans might be worthwhile? On one hand, I question how much a tiny fan can possibly help. On the other hand, maybe any help is better than none? A local trailer place is doing a discounted install-- $150 for two fans and another $150 for the battery to power them.

Anyone have experiences? Like/hate? Think they work? Think it's worth the money? I am slight scared about the fire hazard/taking up horse headroom (did I mention Big'n'Sweaty is a big boy?). Curious to hear feedback from folks who have fans installed.

Heart's Journey
Jul. 16, 2012, 12:56 PM