PDA

View Full Version : Starting several equine businesses over the next three years. Help???

Fenika
Jul. 15, 2012, 07:20 PM
So I have this big and complicated plan I wish to start implementing next year, and I thought I'd bounce it off you folks for some feedback. I won't be quitting my day job any time soon, so don't worry :)

I'm a vet who is as far removed from medicine as a vet can get and still be called Doctor every day by co-workers. What I would like to do is work on horses, doing acupuncture, chiropractic, etc. Adding massage would round things out, and I could also re-learn dentistry down the line to expand my services.

Even so, I don't know that I'd have enough clients to go full time since I don't want to take on a lot of 'regular' cases or practice a large amount of traditional medicine.

What I do want to do is be a certified riding instructor, since that is my passion. I can travel to clients, but I'd also like a decent sized lesson barn. A covered arena would be nice but I won't know if I can pull that off yet. Plus, a large stable would be nice, but I don't want to rely on it as my sole income nor be forever tied up managing only the farm.

Once I can get a business plan going and see what the market is like, I'll know more... But:

The area I want to move to has a few small traditional practices, one of which recently doubled their vet staff from one to two. ;) There are some affluent areas, but mostly it is backyard horsekeepers and some riding enthusiasts who don't own horses. This will make the alternative medicine a harder sell, but not seeing clients 20 hours a day is a more preferred lifestyle anyways! And like I said, things like dentistry could fill in some gaps.

I am reading books on riding, and coaching. I'm refreshing my vet med knowledge and taking an acupuncture class starting next spring. I plan to get my hands on lots of business and finance books, and horse business books....