PDA

View Full Version : Your journey through the levels in eventing

Mukluk
Jul. 5, 2012, 11:30 PM
I'm new to this whole sport but love it. Just did a 1 day intro and planning to do BN in September. I am just curious as to what various paths people/horses have taken through the levels. I don't think I aspire to do higher than training- or MAYBE prelim tops. I would suppose that you spend more time at a level as you move up? I would imagine I would do a few BN's before moving to N- though it totally depends on how we are doing and I'd rather move slowly versus too fast. Anyway I am just curious and would love to hear from folks.

asterix
Jul. 6, 2012, 11:08 AM
I think there are so many "paths" that it would be hard to generalize. So much depends on you, your horse, soundness/injury, access to coaching, schooling, competitions, budget, time, etc.

Most of us who have been doing this sport for a while have had long chunks where we did not advance, or even went backwards, because of one or more of those factors.

I think for many people the marker for moving up is when the cross country at your level begins to look easy, small, or even boring, and the next level up begins to look doable and maybe fun. But how long that takes? Who knows!

Enjoy, do NOT put yourself on a timetable (sure way to have the eventing gods smack you down), and appreciate the journey.

EventerAJ
Jul. 6, 2012, 11:17 AM
I started the sport at age 12; watched Rolex in the spring of 1997 and was hooked forever. Did my first mini-event (pre-novice) in May, some h/j shows that summer, and my first BN that fall. Was in Pony Club, too. Moved up to novice the following year (1998). Spent the season at training level the year after that (1999). During all this, I was riding a wonderful older QH who lived for xc and showed me the ropes.