PDA

View Full Version : WWYD: To be able to work off board?

Nike
Jun. 28, 2012, 12:35 PM
Here's the situation, at my current barn I am able to work off a decent amount of board, like $300 off. The barn is moving locations and increasing board by $200. So, I am thinking about moving to a barn a lot closer and only a little cheaper than the new barn. I would like to work off board if I move barns, but if I can't, I won't move there. If you were a barn owner or are, would you be willing to let a new, experienced boarder work it off? I have been a working student, groom & regularly feed and clean stalls.

trubandloki
Jun. 28, 2012, 12:38 PM
I think it depends on lots of things.

Does the new barn have available openings for your to work? Does the new barn even offer this as an option (because some barns do not want to the hassle of doing it this way)?

It never hurts to ask.

yellowbritches
Jun. 28, 2012, 12:42 PM
Honestly, I've been nice in the past and let boarders (who come to me with the same "resume" you have) work off some of their board, and it never seems to end well. I am a firm believer in the theory of "the first person you make a deal with is the first person to screw you." It's harsh, I know, but I've had working boarders bail on me, take advantage of a nice deal, and generally not hold up their end of the bargain. A lot of times, we get a ways into the deal and I have found that I'm getting the short end of the stick. It's just never been worth it and I avoid it. (when I worked in a training barn for a trainer, we were more willing to let people pitch in for lessons or some training rides).