PDA

View Full Version : Fire ants..Are their numbers declining or am I just lucky?

bird4416
Jun. 27, 2012, 02:44 PM
I've been battling fire ants on my farm for the past 20 years and never really noticed any headway. I just seem to keep their numbers in check, until this year. There is a marked decrease in the number of mounds around the farm and I'm no longer finding the mega mounds that look like something a termite would build in Africa.

Has anyone else noticed a fire ant population decrease? I'm thrilled but wondering if they are secretly building a giant underground mound that will erupt someday and swallow the farm. Could I possibly be winning my war? I'm not using a new type of ant killer and nothing else has changed except a milder than normal winter.

Aggie4Bar
Jun. 27, 2012, 04:33 PM
Yes and no.

I've noticed a significant decrease in the number of above-ground mounds. However, it appears to be that they're simply staying underground. Areas that previously would have had large mounds only have a minimal signs of ant activity, yet if you disrupt the area, they still swarm out of the ground. This year is the first time I've ever found myself in ants having not stepped in them or anywhere else that remotely looked like fireant habitat.

I'm not sure what changed, but I'm honestly very curious to know now where phorid flies have been released and if they're responsible. Because the fireant behavior is different.

Underthebridge
Jun. 27, 2012, 04:40 PM
I agree, less mounds but they are there, still much less of a problem(for now).

vineyridge
Jun. 27, 2012, 09:43 PM
I know that after winter before last, which was very cold here, the number of fire ant mounds decreased tremendously. Maybe they are changing their habits to better cope with different weather patterns--ie in colder places. Of course, last winter we really didn't have winter to speak of, so I'm expecting an explosion in the ant population. :(

Armadillos like to eat them like candy.

*bj