PDA

View Full Version : Hogs with E. Coli?

bluebuckets
May. 20, 2012, 01:06 AM
So, it's been confirmed by the local University vets: the entire hog barn is down with e. coli.
This is my first time dealing with this, what do I do? They've been getting scourguard and another shot (I forget the name). The shot is given IM.
Is there something I can topdress their feed with?
Should I sanitize the barn?
Can it be transferred to horses and dogs?

Thanks, any info is greatly appreciated!

goodhors
May. 20, 2012, 11:50 AM
YESH! What a horrible thing to have happening!!

I would immediately contact my Vet, maybe the University Vets, ask what measures need to be taken to "clean up" the place while the hogs are getting better. I am expecting you to hear that certain SPECIAL measures need to be applied to the removed manure which will contain the disease. Also getting some kind of sanitizing agent to powerwash the barn and holding facilities. And the cleaning will need doing a NUMBER of times. You humans may need to be wearing protective masks, gloves, coveralls and sterilizing boots as you enter and leave the pig facilities.

This is not going to be easy to deal with or manage, to contain the disease. I really feel for you in this situation. Be VERY careful so you humans don't also get contaminated.

bluebuckets
May. 20, 2012, 09:57 PM
Thanks. Yes, this has the potential to be devastating. These are all show hogs, so there's a significant amount of money to be lost if they don't make it (not to mention loosing my piggy friends!). I will start taking biohazard measures, and we have recieved new medicine from the University vets (a powder to topdress their feed with) that will hopefully help. Thankfully, my favorite girl is looking OK at the moment.

Anyone know anything else or been through this before?

goeslikestink
May. 21, 2012, 06:29 AM
read this