PDA

View Full Version : Big move to the south east- help on location!!

BKDressage
May. 13, 2012, 04:07 PM
Husband getting transferred to the east coast. We have the choice of moving to FL, GA(has to be an hour from ATL), NC or SC. I am a professional and currently have a good business in northern IL. I want to move where business can rebuild easily. FL is a big pull for us bc family is there. But not sure if it's the smartest location wise(Tampa, Orlando area)

Opinions? Only requirement is to be within an hour of a major international airport.

lorilu
May. 13, 2012, 08:12 PM
I live in Florida, but I would vote for NC. tampa/Orlando is generally a big mess. (And it's coming our way...:no:)

JB
May. 13, 2012, 08:37 PM
Well, what type of weather do you like? If you hate Winter, then you want FL or the Eastern parts of GA, NC, and SC, though GA and SC have less Winter than NC, except for the Mountains.

If you hate having 1.5 seasons, then don't choose FL :)

Are you bringing horses? Or getting them? Do you need to board or do you want your own place? How important is farm life?

BKDressage
May. 13, 2012, 10:15 PM
What do you mean big mess? And coming "our" way?

BKDressage
May. 13, 2012, 10:21 PM
JB. Im used to the midwest weather, so i think it will be quite an adjutment not having winter, but i will hve to deal and adapt. I need at LEAST 10 acres, not looking to board. I wil be buying or building a facility. I will be bringing 4-6 horses and buying more there. Wanting to know hay costs an pasture quality for FL.

JB
May. 14, 2012, 09:10 AM
Well, depending on what "Winter" means to you, while it's not going to be like the mid-West, here in NC, from the middle to the West, we do have SOME Winter LOL