PDA

View Full Version : I need a Dressage book!

Derby Lyn Farms
May. 9, 2012, 08:06 PM
Ok you guys are killing me here with all these aides. I'm trying to keep up and understand but I need it in a book. My dressage was awesome when I was younger, about 15 years ago. I studied Sally Swift on a daily basis. Is this a good book for me to pull back out now that I am getting back into dressage?

I see all the posts on instructors not giving riders the correct instruction on cues. I have to haul my horse about 1.5hrs away to a decent dressage instructor. My last instructor just had me going around the ring, same old stuff. Just saying keep your arms down. I can buy a parrot for cheaper then that instructor and teach it to say "Keep your arms down" and set it on the rail when I ride.

So Sally Swift? Or is she out dated? Is there a better book out there?

GallantGesture
May. 9, 2012, 11:26 PM
Jane Savoie's new book Dressage 101 is excellent. She does a great job breaking down different movements and has plenty of illustrations about how it should look and good descriptions of how to do things. It starts at the VERY beginning of training and progresses in a logical manner all the way up the levels.

Superminion
May. 10, 2012, 07:40 AM
Dressage with Kyra is another good one! My trainer has a copy that always gets stolen, but it's a great resource. We're big KK fans at our farm.

I read a great Cross-Training one when I was younger, but can't remember the title for the life of me. There were two or three books in the series, but had some great exercises and the writing was really easy to follow. Lots of pictures. I'll see if I can find it on Amazon and check back in. :)

carolprudm
May. 10, 2012, 07:59 AM
Dressage with Kyra is another good one! My trainer has a copy that always gets stolen, but it's a great resource. We're big KK fans at our farm.