PDA

View Full Version : I Need Help - Beginner Rider/Unsafe Horse

LockeMeadows
Apr. 6, 2012, 12:28 AM
Oh my. We have a boarder that has a coming 4yo, basically unhandled Draft/Tb cross; well over 16.2H. They owned the horse before boarding with us and plan on sending the horse into training this spring. My SO is good horse person on the ground, but is a complete beginner under saddle. His 13 daughter can w/t/c and jump around small jumps, but is still very much a beginner herself. Imagine my shock and horror when I read on her facebook (while I was at work) that they "worked" said unhandled 4yo today. When I called home in a panic, my SO said they talked to the owner last week and got the ok to work with the horse. It sounds like it did not go well. I am not good with this on so many levels. First, I'm not crazy for this horse to even be in our fields. He is not a "quiet" baby and seems to be missing some brains. Second, I can not help them, as I am getting my ammy status back, and don't want to risk anything. However, even if I was training, this horse would not be something I would even want an exprienced ammy working with, let alone beginners. They are going to get themselves killed. Of course, after watcing War Horse, both of them are ready to train something from scratch. :rolleyes:

I called SO multiple times tonight from work begging him to promise me they won't touch this horse again. He would not make any promises. I'm about to call the owner and have said horse removed before someone gets hurt. This horse is not safe and they don't seem to "get it".

We had already talked about getting the daughter a project horse this year, but this was not what I had in mind. :no:

alto
Apr. 6, 2012, 12:47 AM
They owned the horse before boarding with us and plan on sending the horse into training this spring.

Spring started a few weeks ago, get this horse gone if SO & DD don't get why horse is dangerous.