PDA

View Full Version : Eliminating a terrible instinct? So frustrated -- long.

Rel6
Apr. 5, 2012, 09:48 PM
So I've been riding with my current coach for almost three years now. She's great and she's really helped me fine tune a lot of my riding and helped me shift my thinking away from being a little bit of a handsy rider to using my leg to achieve what I want.

The one place where I can't seem to break this habit is approaching a jump. On an horse who knows how to jump I can ride a soft straight line to a jump and find a good spot -- I have a pretty good natural eye plus a good, consistent canter makes that not even necessary.

But on green horses I've always had a lot of trouble. I can get the horse straight to a fence, but the second they start to wiggle a little a few strides out I make a desperate grab for my rein to straighten them, which of course doesn't help at all.

For example: I was riding a greenie yesterday. We're tracking left and the jump is a single x-rail set right off the rail. We approached the jump, and coming off the rail we're straight. About four strides out I felt her start to veer right a little so I grab at my left rein and try to steer her head straight. She pops her right shoulder out even more, and then I basically just pull on my left rein in an attempt to drag her over the fence. She goes around it to the right.

I don't know how to fix this. Let me say that I know exactly what I am doing wrong. I KNOW I can't steer her head over the fence. I know if her right shoulder is popping out I need right rein and right leg to tuck it back under her. I know grabbing at her face desperately doesn't help me at all. I know all of this...but I cannot stop doing it! I keep it in my head approaching the jump but the second things go wrong I revert to OMG MUST GET HER OVER THE JUMP.