PDA

View Full Version : Where to go? Advice please?

maigenesis
Apr. 3, 2012, 02:34 AM
Right now I am slightly at a standstill with my riding, as I need to wait 6 months for a work permit and license. I have been riding for 6 years, at 3 barns, but in that time have not come far, as I am showing 2' courses at the unrated classes at 'A' shows. In the fall, I will have a job, license, and will be able to ride more.

I am going to move barns, and am really interested in Joey Pedroni Stables and Sonoma Valley Stables.

Right now, my parents give me enough money for 6 lessons a month at Joey's and 8 at Sonoma Valley Stables, though I would be supplementing with babysitting money for the rest (I want to ride 2x/week)

If I went to SVS, I could ride maybe 3x/week on a lesson horse, and once I am over 2'6", 2x week. (Lessons are more expensive after you go over 2'6") But, I would have a more well-known trainer with more possible connections (I would like to working student in during my gap year). The con is that it is a really big barn, and I would get 'lost' between all the people that pay 100k+ a year to ride. I could not have (neither lease most likely here).

Hope 'trained' Joey for a while if I am not mistaken.

The other option is JPS. It seems like a nicer barn, though lessons are the same cost as SVS's over-2'6"-price no matter what level. I could take lessons 2-3x/week, OR (as I presume board is cheaper here) possible own a horse with 1 lesson a week. Advantages is a smaller barn, more 'professional small family'. Con is lesser-know trainer (nationally).

In short, should I go with the well-known trainer for 2-3 lessons a week (where I would be probably seen as the poor girl) or 2 lessons a week with a smaller-professional barn/1 lesson a week and my own horse?

Sorry for the novel. Any insight from all of you would be great.

alto
Apr. 3, 2012, 03:41 AM
You need to ride not just lesson so take that into consideration as well.