PDA

View Full Version : Trials on sale horses? A few questions

Crown Royal
Apr. 1, 2012, 01:16 PM
I have a four year old hunter prospect for sale in the mid four-figures. He is broke to ride on the flat and over smallish fences. I have had someone contact me that is interested in him and doing a 30-day trial. I have only sold one other horse and did not do a trial on that one, nor have I done any trials on horses I have purchased, so I have zero experience with this. I told the person that I would have to do more research for agreeing to a trial, may require that she carries insurance on him, and that I would have to approve the situation and stable where he would be kept.

I know a trial is great for the buyer so they can get a good feel of the horse before "diving in" but I'm not sure how safe it is for the seller. For those that have been on either side of a trial, how did it go? Can the buyer carry insurance on a horse that belongs to the seller, and was it required in your case? Did you require a deposit on the horse first (if so, how much?). Any and all information would be great. My horse is sound both physically and mentally and I would like to keep it that way without preventing a potential sale.

DarkStarrx
Apr. 1, 2012, 01:45 PM
30 days sounds like an awful long time. I've never had a horse on trial myself, but I know several close friends who did. Done between reputable trainers, horses never stayed for more than 2 weeks tops. Most were a week. I would never let my own horse go for a month long trial. Too much could go wrong.

SquishTheBunny
Apr. 1, 2012, 01:45 PM
30 days is not standard. Some higher priced or seasoned horses can sometimes warrant a 2 week trial, however a lot of damage can be done to a green horse in this timeframe.

I would probably consider a 3 day trial,and to have a vetting pre-arranged for the third day.

seabreeze
Apr. 1, 2012, 01:53 PM