PDA

View Full Version : Coloring your hair to match your horse?!

JumpingAddict93
Mar. 31, 2012, 04:22 PM
Ok so im a hair stylist so i have to keep some style to my hair. Right now the perimeter of my hair is a reddish brown and the top is bleach blonde. Recently a lady came into the salon said she wanted to be a chestnut color... i just so happened to have a picture of my chestnut mare sitting on my station... so colored her hair to match my mare.
Would i be totally crazy to do the same(id have blonde highlights, have to have some blonde) but is that a little wierd to color my hair to match my horse?:lol:

bits619
Mar. 31, 2012, 05:44 PM
My hair was the exact color of the mane of a horse i used to ride. He was a chestnut with a slightly darker mane and when compared side to side, you couldn't tell his mane from 'mine' aside from mine being curly, lol.
I don't match the horse i ride now (he's a bay and i don't know how good I'd look with black hair), but it was kinda fun matching the last horse :-)

JumpingAddict93
Mar. 31, 2012, 06:20 PM
That is funny...black is also hard to get out! My chestnut is coppery...so thats exactly what i wanted to do

fourmares
Mar. 31, 2012, 06:25 PM
I remember a book about an equitation barn, I think it was Madden and Cooney's. One of the things that they said was that when possible they liked to find a horse that matched the riders coloring... so chestnuts for a blond and bays for brunettes... I thought it was a bit nutty, but...

Laurierace
Mar. 31, 2012, 06:29 PM
I want my hair to match my filly's tail. It is dark brown with blond and silver highlights. Absolutely breathtaking on a person but wish it was all one color on her.

SarahandSam
Mar. 31, 2012, 06:31 PM