PDA

View Full Version : Riding in London or other study-abroad?

Cacique
Mar. 27, 2012, 09:36 PM
Hi all,

I am looking into studying abroad in London next fall and was curious to know if anyone on here was from London and could discuss options? I've only been for a week-long visit and have no real sense of transportation or access to horsey-areas.

I'd also be interested to know if anyone had any ideas for study-abroad programs (for college-credit) where I could also ride?

I know both are such long-shots it almost sounds silly but I figured it was worth a shot! :lol:

Thanks!

vantage
Mar. 27, 2012, 09:53 PM
I rode while I studied abroad! I lived in Seville, Spain and studied at the University of Sevilla. I used google and sent some emails and found a wonderful and quiet dressage barn about 40 minutes outside of the city. I took the bus and the barn owner picked me up and dropped me off at the bus stop! It was a wonderful experience. I rode amazing spanish stallions, and even got to attend SICAB, the big festival of the PRE horse in Sevilla with the barn owner and the trainer and meet all sorts of interesting people (and become fluent in spanish in the process!)

kimball1
Mar. 27, 2012, 10:33 PM
There are lots of good stables within a reasonable commute of London. I used to go over for business and hack in Windsor with a local stable near Bracknell (cannot remember the name of it!) I would take the train out and then a short cab ride (about 5 pounds). Be ready to gallop on, and they are not deterred by torrential rain :-). Riding in Windsor is incredible, just try to go with a private stable instead of one of the rental hack places.

This Weird Quirk
Mar. 28, 2012, 12:06 AM