PDA

View Full Version : What is your 4 year olds doing?

Fharoah
Mar. 26, 2012, 12:56 PM
What training is your four year old hunter prospects doing at this time?

Thanks in advance!

cmcrill
Mar. 26, 2012, 09:25 PM
I have a nice dutch/TB gelding coming 4 in May. He walks, trots, canters and jumps crossrails at a trot and canter. He does leg yielding, backs up and does turns on the forehand. He's pretty immature, I won't push him, but would like him cantering small courses by the end of the summer. I'm an amateur so I'm sure he could do more in a pro's hands, but it's ok, I'm not in a rush. I saw a previous post about what people are doing with their 3 year olds and was quite impressed at how much they were capable of. Each one is different mentally and physically though so I don't think anyone should really expect too much at this age.

Rel6
Mar. 26, 2012, 10:25 PM
I have a four year old OTTB (officially five according to the Jockey Club, but he's got a very late birthday in June.) Its a little different with an OTTB versus a complete greenie since we have to work on getting rid of some of the old habits (slow canter? whats that?) He's also only had about 3/4 months of hunter jumper training, and only about a month with me.