PDA

View Full Version : Non-Horsey Husbands

Whinny83
Mar. 18, 2012, 09:18 PM
Yes, another one of these threads.

MY DH will not "let" me buy a horse because he sees it as a waste of money. He constantly complains about horses, even me looking at this forum. He says horses are like "crack" to me, and I have to get my fix. True story, but I don't see it as a bad thing. I feel he is just being controlling.

I work full time and actually make more money than he does, although we share accounts. I've been trying to figure ways to change his mind, such as letting him know how much it means it to me, etc. How horses are to me what sports are to him....No dice.

I've leased a few horses since becoming a re-rider, but leasing is okay until the owners decide to sell the horse out from under you. He knew I loved horses before we married, and I told him I would be buying a horse once I finished my MBA and got a higher paying gig. So I did all that, and once he realized the cost of horse ownership, he changed his mind. Anyway, I guess the question is, How have other people dealt with this? He feels leasing is good compromise, but I clearly disagree.

littleum
Mar. 18, 2012, 09:29 PM
He's willing to go as far as leasing? I think that's a pretty big step forward.

Your argument about the potential sale of a horse sounds more like an excuse to me. You can find "locked in" leases where the horse isn't for sale at all. You can get a contract stating you have the horse for X weeks/months/years. Plenty of situations where a kid is at college, someone is preggars etc and the horse isn't for sale but clearly won't be used for an extended period of time.

Why not lease a few horses, take your time, let him get his head wrapped around it all and see it's not really going to be the end of the (his) world?