PDA

View Full Version : Law School Interview THIS WEEK! Any advice?

todaysspecial
Mar. 18, 2012, 07:37 PM
I'm a mature student, just over 30 with 3 kids. I have an interview this week at a very competitive law school, for which I am hugely grateful. I was given a heads up as to what they will ask:

Why law?
Why that particular school?
Current Events
They will also be familiar with my Personal Statement and References - luckily I had 5 fabulous academic ones (I'm currently in my third year of a 4 year undergrad degree with great marks - Mature students are permitted to apply without a previous degree, but it's a long shot - that's why I'm so amazed to have the interview!)

The interview is with two professors, and they will likely test my second language abilities as well.

Any tips from anyone that's been down this road? I'm nervous and would hugely appreciate any help!! Most of all, I'm wondering what to say if they ask why I shouldn't have to finish my undergrad first. I do have a great deal of work history, great extra curriculars, etc. My frank reasoning is that I don't have the luxury of taking forever, as my eldest has special needs requiring expensive therapies. Also, good God, I don't want to be in school forever. Any ideas? :)

GotSpots
Mar. 18, 2012, 07:52 PM
Honestly, interviews really don't play a huge part of law school admissions at the more competitive schools. A few of the top schools do "informational" interviews, but the decisions are really made on the candidate's record and test scores.

Thus, I'm inherently a bit wary of a school that does an interview without an undergrad degree. Can you give a bit more information about where this school ranks? And is this a program that would allow you to finish your undergrad concurrently with the law school program?