PDA

View Full Version : Am I responsible for this bill?

Doppleganger
Mar. 18, 2012, 02:21 PM
Okay- using an alter here.
Anyway, the other day I got a letter in the mail from my high school (private school) saying that my parents were delinquent on the bill while I was there. It went on to say that if I paid half the amount owed (which would be about 6K) they would send me my diploma and high school transcripts.
First off, it's been over 16 years now since I graduated high school and this is the first I've ever heard of this (and it hasn't been because I wasn't reachable, up until 5 years ago- I'd had the same address I had in high school).
Secondly, I was obviously a minor
Thirdly, I didn't go to graduation and did get my actual diploma but I did graduate and went on to college. I have my college transcripts so I'm not sure why I would need high school transcripts.
Fourthly, I can't afford to pay them even a hundred bucks let alone 6000 even if I wanted to.

I'm inclined to just ignore the letter, but can they really hold me (who was a minor and it was over 16 years ago) responsible for the bill ? Or is it just typical Catholic school money fishing?

Truly I would pay it if I had the money but I don't and my parents don't.

sigh....

Coreene
Mar. 18, 2012, 02:27 PM
Tell them to go take a flying screw at the moon. Even if it was true - and I smell scam - the time that your parents (not you, you were a minor and their contract was with your parents) could be legally pursued for this ran out long ago.

mswillie
Mar. 18, 2012, 02:30 PM
Throw it away. Don't even acknowledge it.

carolprudm
Mar. 18, 2012, 02:30 PM
I'm not a lawyer, do not play one on tv and did not slee at a Holiday Inn last night so take this for what you are paying for it.