PDA

View Full Version : Deciding my future... Does it get any easier?

Libby416
Mar. 18, 2012, 11:37 AM
I am a college student, entering my junior year, and I have yet to figure out what I want to pursue career wise. I feel so lost, and when I look at all my friends, who seem to have figured their lives out already, I just feel so frustrated. School has never been easy for me, not because I couldn't make the grades but because I am not motivated at all to do the work, and it hasn't gotten better since starting college.

I obviously know I need to do something that can support my riding, which is at a stand still now, but trying to find a job not horse related that I'd actually like to do has been really tough. I always figured I'd be riding, which was extremely naive of me I know.

I guess what I'm getting at is, for those of you who feel horses are a major factor in your life, how did you decide on a career that didn't involve them? How did you motivate yourself to pursue that career?

sketcher
Mar. 18, 2012, 11:44 AM
The reality of it is that you will graduate and then start searching for jobs and as you look at what to apply for based on your skills you will eventually find something. And that something may lead you to something else. You don't need to know what you want to do. You don;t need to know right now what that 'something' is. You just need to get out of college with a degree that help you to be employable and be willing to work. As you start perusing the 'help wanted' ads you figure out which ones catch you interest and which ones don't. And someday you might find something that really rings your bell.

BlueEyedSorrel
Mar. 18, 2012, 11:53 AM