PDA

View Full Version : Any artists here?

Kdriver
Mar. 17, 2012, 06:45 PM
I'm trying to start my own small horse portrait business. I've had a few commissions, and have committed to a booth at a horse expo next weekend. I'm bringing a variety of pieces- samples of portraits/commissions, as well as a few pieces I can sell on the spot. I'm just getting into the art business, so I'm not sure what is reasonable to be charging, or how to decide what to charge. The BF works in marketing and insists that I should be charging more (something about how people value expensive things more and will think my stuff is higher quality if I charge accordingly...). I've looked at other horse artists' websites who do work similar to mine and their prices are all much higher than mine (well duh... they've probably been doing this awhile and are well known enough!!). At this point, I have about a dozen recent samples up on my website, and have at least 8 I can display at the expo this weekend. But I'm just not sure about pricing. I really enjoy doing this as a way to support my horse hobby, and I do want to sell or commission at least a few pieces, since I just spent 3 weeks' worth of board $$ on materials (ouch!, but on the plus side, I can cut my own mats now!!). I am hoping I'm allowed to post my samples... http://rbrownart.webs.com/apps/photos/album?albumid=12265601

Anyway, advice on pricing would be much appreciated!

Mukluk
Mar. 18, 2012, 01:31 PM
Well definitely charge enough to cover your costs and give you something extra. Since you are new (and hesitant about charging the market rate), would it be reasonable to charge say 2/3 of what others do and raise your rates as you have more clientele? I think a lot of it is going to be in marketing. I am not a business major but it would imagine it would be worth your while to do your homework on marketing. Good luck!

Alagirl
Mar. 18, 2012, 02:00 PM
I walked through a 'gallery' at the local mall a while back...