PDA

View Full Version : Safest way to pay for and have a saddle shipped?

Crown Royal
Mar. 16, 2012, 02:18 PM
I am looking at purchasing a used saddle off of Tack Trader but it is far enough away that it will have to be shipped to me. What is the safest way to pay for the saddle and have it shipped so that I know I'm going to receive the saddle and not have my money stolen?

I am new to buying from private parties online so any help would be appreciated so I don't mess up. Thanks!

Jumper_girl221
Mar. 16, 2012, 02:26 PM
Use paypal...that way you can file a claim within 45 days if it doesn't arrive, and have them ship using UPS or USPS and pay for the insurance :)

Good luck!

TrakeGirl
Mar. 16, 2012, 02:53 PM
I agree - Paypal is the way to go if both you and the seller have accounts.

As a buyer, I pretty much won't send anyone any significant amount of money (say...over $50) without using Paypal. If they don't take Paypal, sorry...deal is off. (Although if I really want the item, I do offer to pay a little more to cover the PayPal fees to the seller because sometimes that is the reason they won't use Paypal.)

As a seller, I've had quite a few people blindly send me checks for items, including saddles. How did they trust me? I have no idea. I always provided my full name and address and a phone number they could reach me by and I usually provide my ebay seller name so they know I am not a scammer (although I imagine I could give them just about anyone's ID and call it mine). So there are people willing to just send checks...I am just not one of them.

GingerJumper
Mar. 16, 2012, 03:32 PM
I'd use PayPal. I used it to purchase a saddle from a COTHer and I think we also did tracking or insurance on the saddle so we both had the assurance that it got where it was going--to me. :)

I did choose to send a check for a bridle I bought from another COTHer, but she provided references and it was a much smaller amount so I wasn't really worried in that situation.

NSRider