PDA

View Full Version : The case for not giving up on the aged horse - PICS!

MrsFitzDarcy&Feliks
Mar. 14, 2012, 06:51 PM
I started riding my friend's foster rescue thoroughbred about two years ago. We weren't exactly sure how old he was, but knew he was over 20. At the time she was teaching lessons on him, so I mostly rode him on the flat for no stirrup sessions, etc. I didn't really take too much of second look at the time. A pretty young mare had struck my fancy. She needed polishing and was a fun project.

Meanwhile I had been helping a friend/trainer schooling some of her horses. I've almost always ridden "no-name" or OTTBs in my life and was not really familiar with the warmblood type spook. I didn't take a spill, but at 40, lost some of my confidence.

I went back to riding this wonderful guy to get my confidence back. Playing around I discovered he had a killer trot, went on the bit easily, and could even do lateral work. There was not a stiff bone in the horse's body. As he started to muscle up, I started to jump him over an occasional x-rail. He was amped up and clearly enjoyed himself, although he was not quite the beginner school horse he could be on the flat. He stayed sound and we jumped him a little more ... up to 2'6". He was a star. We set up lines. He made it as easily down the lines as my friend's taller TB mare and powerful Holsteiner. What was this horse's past?

With a small windfall, I contributed towards his adoption so he could stay with my friend (and me cough, cough). He is my friend's horse, but I put in as much as I can to help. (Before judging, I am a single mom with a disabled child and can only work part time. I do the best I can, and thank my lucky stars I have the best friend in the world.). The adoption had all his papers and I finally tracked down his racing record (1 start) and his owners. And how old was he? 23!!!!! And the soundest horse I've known.